## Subsection 11.—Yukon and Northwest Territories

Yukon Territory.—The Yukon was created a separate Territory in June 1898. Provision is made for a local government administered by a Commissioner appointed by the Governor in Council. There is an elected Council. An amendment to the Yukon Act in 1960 provides for seven Councillors instead of the former five and a Territorial Ordinance passed at the Third Session 1960 provides for seven electoral districts. The first election under these laws will be held in 1961. The Commissioner administers the Government under instructions from the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. The Commissioner in Council has power to make ordinances dealing with the imposition of local taxes, sale of liquor, preservation of game, establishment of territorial offices, maintenance of municipal institutions, issue of licences, incorporation of companies, solemnization of marriage, property and civil rights, and generally all matters of a local nature in the Territory. The seat of local government is at Whitehorse, Yukon Territory.

## GOVERNMENT OF THE YUKON TERRITORY (as at Jan. 1, 1961)

(At Jan. 1, 1961 the Government consisted of an appointed Commissioner and a Council of five members elected in 1958 for a three-year term; the first election of the seven-member Council will be held in 1961.)

Commissioner	F. H. Collins
Members of Council—	
Dawson	G. Shaw
Carmacks-Kluane	G. Livesey
Whitehorse West	J. Smith
Мауо	R. L. McKamey
Whitehorse North	Vacant
Whitehorse East	C. D. TAYLOR
Watson Lake	Vacant
Officers of Council—	
Clerk	H. J. TAYLOR
Legal Adviser	F. R. BICKELL

The Northern Administration Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, has the responsibility for the general administration of the natural resources of the Yukon Territory, except game. The Department maintains three lands and mining offices at various points in the Territory. Other departments and agencies of the Federal Government, including the Department of Justice, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the Departments of National Defence, Citizenship and Immigration, Mines and Technical Surveys, National Revenue, Transport, Post Office, Agriculture, Fisheries, Public Works and the Unemployment Insurance Commission, also maintain offices in the Yukon Territory.\*

## Northwest Territories.—As reconstituted on Sept. 1, 1905, these comprise:—

- (1) all that part of Canada north of the Sixtieth Parallel of North Latitude, except the portions thereof within the Yukon Territory and the Provinces of Quebec and Newfoundland, and
- (2) the islands in Hudson Bay, James Bay and Ungava Bay, except those islands within the Provinces of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

<sup>\*</sup> Further information on officials of various Federal Government departments serving Yukon Territory may be obtained from the Director, Northern Administration Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, Ottawa.